Our Lady of Sorrows is remembered on Sept 15th. This is the day we remember the 7 major sorrows which Our Lady would have experienced during her life. They are:

  1. The prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2:25-35)
  2. The flight into Egypt (Matthew 2:13-15)
  3. Loss of the Child Jesus for three days (Luke 2:41-50) 
  4. Mary meets Jesus on his way to Calvary (Luke 23:27-31; John 19:17)
  5. Crucifixion and Death of Jesus (John 19:25-30)
  6. The body of Jesus being taken from the Cross (Psalm 130; Luke 23:50-54; John 19:31-37)
  7. The burial of Jesus (Isaiah 53:8; Luke 23:50-56; John 19:38-42; Mark 15:40-47)
Read more about this feast day HERE.
Today I want to share the liturgical ornament which depicts the heart of Our Lady of Sorrows.
The heart was cut from red felt and lightly outlined with a purple permanent marker. The 7 swords were made from gray felt. The flames were cut from yellow felt and decorated with orange and red permanent markers. After everything was glued down, we also added gold glitter glue to the flames and red glitter glue to the heart where the swords \”pierce\” the heart and around the outer edge. Lastly, we added a gold-thread loop to hang it on our liturgical tree.

Our Lady pray for us, may we endure our struggles with grace and peace.

God bless you all!
~Jennifer and Elizabeth

Follow Catholic Inspired:
FeedburnerFacebookGoogle+, Twitter, and Pinterest
Become a Subscribed-Member:
(Gain access to more ideas and downloads – It\’s FREE!)

Leave a Reply